FUTURE OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY

NudgeNight

Work hard, Nudge smart – At this year’s NudgeNight at Hamm-Lippstadt University of Applied Sciences on 3 July 2024, we would like to discuss the topic of occupational safety with you and present our innovative nudges.

NudgeNight 2024

Work hard, Nudge smart – At this year’s NudgeNight at Hamm-Lippstadt University of Applied Sciences on 3 July 2024, we would like to discuss the topic of occupational safety with you and present our innovative nudges.

Let’s go

NudgeDatabase

Find out more about our exciting nudges.

Let’s go

NudgeNow – Student Consultancy

If you or your company are looking for support in the creation and implementation of nudge concepts, the student consultancy ‘Nudge Now!’ at Hamm-Lippstadt University of Applied Sciences will be happy to help you.

More information

What is meant by nudging?

NudgeWhat?

Nudge [nʌdʒ] – a gentle touch or push – is the name for a concept in psychology and behavioural economics which makes it possible to influence someone towards better decisions without limiting the freedom of choice or using economic (monetary) incentives.

Why Nudging?

Nudging is effective because humans tend to behave irrationally and unmindful in everyday decisions, and often it is just the matter of a slight stimulus to start acting (differently). For example, it is senseful to plan meetings for 40 minutes instead of 60 minutes, as the time is being used more efficiently in a stricter time frame, although the meetings are shorter.

The oldest example of a nudge can be found in a story about the prussian king Frederick the Great. At his time potatoes were not particularly popular, in order to change that, he let his soldiers guard the potato fields. Due to the sudden increase of the potatoes value, it is said that the citizens started being interested in the field crops and consumed them often and with pleasure.

What opportunities and challenges does nudging offer?

Many nudges are definitely advantageous – actually, many consumers are putting their hopes in such an assistance in order to sustainably change their habits of eating and consuming. However, nudges are not unproblematic from the perspective of the persons affected, as their are often driven by economic interest of the producers or employers. This fact is neither new nor should be judged negatively. The influencing of (potential) customers is as old as the markets themselves. Marketing and Advertisements always seeked to make the own products and services as attractive as possible to the consumers. Using findings of the behavioral psychology is not new as well. The knowledge of nudging is already being used for a long time in commercial fields like user experience design, marketing or the distribution of products and services. But since a few years, this knowledge is used more systematically and comprehensively in the economic world.

About our event

NudgeNight

What is the NudgeNight?

At the Nudge Night, interested parties can inform themselves about the topic of decision-making and get to know nudges from various economic dimensions presented by students.

Each Nudge Night has its main theme in terms of content, to which the developed nudges are oriented. Sometimes they are more socio-political topics such as “Sustainable Consumption” and “Education” or company-related topics such as “Innovation Management” and “Customer Experience”.

To get an idea of what nudging exactly means and how it can be used, you will be informed at the beginning through a short introduction about the topic of “Nudging”. This will be followed by a keynote speech held by practitioners from the industrial sector, public organizations or from the service sector. You will have the opportunity to get in touch with the students to ask questions about their innovative projects.

Who is the NudgeNight for?

We invite all interested parties to participate. Whether you are an entrepreneur and would like to learn more about the topic for professional purposes or join us as a student – you are very welcome! The participation is free of charge.

Talking to…

NudgeNight History

Professor Dr. Christoph Harff

Directed by Professor Harff, the NudgeNight took place for the first time in 2018. We interviewed him about how things started and what the aim of the annual NudgeNight is.

All information on the topic of nudging

NudgeInfos

Find out more about our student consultancy, previous NudgeNights from previous years and our research papers.

  • NudgeNow – Student Consultancy

    If you or your company are looking for support in the creation and implementation of nudge concepts, the student consultancy ‘Nudge Now!’ at Hamm-Lippstadt University of Applied Sciences will be happy to help you. We will work with you to develop ideas for customised nudges and work out how to implement them for your company. For more information, please contact: info@nudgenight.com

    Details about the workshop can be found here
  • Nudge Topics u0026 Archive

    Our previous topics:

    SNACS Well-Nudged (Sustainable Nutrition And Catering Settings), Nudging and Law, Nudging for Future (Sustainability), Health Sector Nudging, Corporate Nudging, Public Nudging

    Go to archive
  • NudgeDatabase

    We have a database of all the nudges we have developed to date.

    Go to Database

Who are we?

NudgeUs

We are students at the HSHL in the course of studies “Intercultural Business Psychology” with a major in “Behavioral Economics” and are supervised by Prof. Dr. Christoph Harff. We have made it our business to develop useful nudges for companies and to inform our visitors on the topic of decision-making.

Every summer semester at HSHL we organize the NudgeNight independently.

IDEEN, DIE ZÜNDEN!

NudgeNight

– JUST NUDGE –

00
Tage
00
Stunden
00
Minuten
00
Sekunden
Bei der NudgeNight können sich Interessierte zum Thema Entscheidungsfindung informieren und an studentischen Messeständen Nudges aus Bereichen des (Wirtschafts-)Lebens kennenlernen.

NudgeWhat?

Was versteht man unter Nudging?
Nudge [nʌdʒ] – Englisch für „Stups“
Warum Nudging?
Nudging ist effektiv, weil Menschen sich bei Alltagsentscheidungen oft unbedacht oder irrational verhalten.
Welche Chancen und Herausforderungen bietet Nudging?
Viele Nudges sind eindeutig von Vorteil.

Was versteht man unter Nudging?

Nudge [nʌdʒ] – Englisch für „Stups“ – nennt sich ein Prinzip aus der Psychologie und Verhaltensökonomie, mit dem man jemanden dazu bewegt, bessere Entscheidungen zu treffen, ohne wirtschaftliche (monetäre) Anreize stark zu verändern oder seine Wahlfreiheit einzuschränken.

Warum Nudging?

Nudging ist effektiv, weil Menschen sich bei Alltagsentscheidungen oft unbedacht oder irrational verhalten und ihnen häufig nur ein kleiner Reiz fehlt, um mit dem Handeln zu beginnen. Beispielsweise ist es sinnvoll Meetings auf 40min statt 60min anzusetzen. Unter einem engeren Zeitrahmen wird die Zeit effizienter genutzt und das, obwohl die Meetings ab jetzt kürzer sind.

Das älteste Beispiel für einen Nudge findet sich in einer Geschichte über König Friedrich dem Großen. Zu seiner Zeit sollen Kartoffeln kein beliebtes Nahrungsmittel gewesen sein. Um dieser Popularität zu verschaffen, habe er die Felder von Soldaten bewachen lassen. Durch den plötzlichen Wertanstieg der Kartoffel sollen die Bürger Interesse an der Feldfrucht bekommen haben und sie häufig und gerne verzehrt haben.

Welche Chancen und Herausforderungen bietet Nudging?

Viele Nudges sind eindeutig von Vorteil – tatsächlich setzen z.B. Verbraucher ihre Hoffnungen auf derartige Hilfestellungen, um ihr Konsum- oder Essverhalten nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Nudges sind jedoch aus der Sicht der Betroffenen nicht unproblematisch, weil sie vielfach durch wirtschaftliche Interessen des Produzenten oder des Arbeitsgebers getrieben sind. Dieser Umstand ist weder neu noch als negativ zu bewerten. Die Beeinflussung von (potentiellen) Kunden durch den Produzenten ist so alt wie Märkte selbst. Werbung und Marketing zielten schon immer darauf ab, die eigenen Produkte und Dienstleistungen für den Verbraucher so attraktiv wie möglich zu machen. Auch der Rückgriff auf verhaltenspsychologische Erkenntnisse ist nicht unbedingt neu. Die Erkenntnisse des Nudgings werden bereits seit geraumer Zeit in kommerziellen Bereichen wie User Experience Design, Marketing und Vertrieb von Produkten und Dienstleistungen eingesetzt. Seit einigen Jahren werden diese Erkenntnisse nur wesentlich systematischer und umfassender in unserem Wirtschaftsleben eingesetzt.

NudgeNow - Studentische Beratung

Suchen Sie oder Ihre Firma Unterstützung bei der Erstellung und Umsetzung von Nudgekonzeptionen, ist die studentische Beratung ‚Nudge Now!‘ der Hochschule Hamm-Lippstadt gerne für Sie da. Wir entwickeln mit Ihnen Ideen für individuell zugeschnittene Nudges und erarbeiten die Umsetzung dieser für Ihr Unternehmen. Für nähere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte: info@nudgenight.com
Get Started

NudgeNight

Was ist die NudgeNight?
Bei der NudgeNight können sich Interessierte zum Thema Entscheidungsfindung informieren.
Für wen ist die NudgeNight?
Wir laden alle Interessierten dazu ein teilzunehmen.

Was ist die NudgeNight?

Bei der NudgeNight können sich Interessierte zum Thema Entscheidungsfindung informieren und an studentischen Messeständen Nudges aus den Bereichen des (Wirtschafts-)Lebens kennenlernen. 

Jede NudgeNight hat ihren inhaltlichen Schwerpunkt, an dem sich die entwickelten Nudges orientieren. Mal sind es eher gesellschaftspolitische Themen wie „Nachhaltiger Konsum“ und „Bildung“ oder unternehmensbezogene Themen wie „Innovationsmanagement“ und „Customer Experience“.

Um eine Vorstellung zu bekommen, was Nudging genau bedeutet und wie dieses genutzt werden kann, erhalten Sie zu Beginn eine kurze Einführung in das Thema “Nudging” und einen Impulsvortrag von Praktikern aus der Industrie, aus Behörden oder aus dem Dienstleistungssektor. Schließlich können Sie sich mit den Studierenden über ihre innovativen Projekte austauschen, bevor eine Podiumsdiskussion die Messe abrundet.

Für wen ist die NudgeNight?

Wir laden alle Interessierten dazu ein teilzunehmen. Egal ob Sie UnternehmerIn sind und für berufliche Zwecke mehr über das Thema erfahren möchten oder als StudentIn zu uns stoßen, Sie sind herzlich Willkommen. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos.

NudgeNight History

Im Interview mit...

Professor Dr. Christoph Harff

Unter Regie von Professor Harff hat die NudgeNight 2018 zum ersten Mal stattgefunden. Wir haben ihn gefragt, wie es dazu kam und was das Ziel der jährlichen NudgeNight ist.

Nudge Themen & Archiv

NudgeNight 2022

"Nudging und Recht"

Umweltpolitik
Klimapolitik
Baurecht
Verkehrsrecht
Betriebliche Compliance
Sludge im Öffentlichen Recht
Verbraucherschutz
Impf"pflicht"
Diversity

NudgeNight 2021

"Nudging for Future"

Impact Asset Management
Circular Economy
Coperate Business Models
Energy Consumption
Energetic Building Innovation
Reuse and Repair
Food and Diet Consumption
Packaging Consumption
Self-Nudging for sustainable lifestyles
Corporate Impact Investing
Zum Archiv der NudgeNight 2021

NudgeNight 2020

"Health Sector Nudging"

(Fehl-) Ernährung
Pflege
Betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement
Hygiene
Patientendaten (KI)
Organ-, Blut- und Knochenmarkspende
Psychotherapie
Präventionsmaßnahmen
Konsum psychotroper Substanzen
Zum Archiv der NudgeNight 2020

NudgeNight 2019

"Corporate Nudging"

Berufliche Weiterbildung
Innovationsmanagement
Betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement
Unternehmenskommunikation
Customer Experience
Change Management
Gemeinnützige Organisationen
Zum Archiv der NudgeNight 2019

NudgeNight 2018

"Public Nudging"

Energie- und Versorgungswirtschaft
Bildung
Gesundheitswesen
Verbraucherpolitik
Arbeitsmarkt
Umweltökonomik
Nachhaltiger Konsum
Zum Archiv der NudgeNight 2018

NudgeCast

Wenn Sie mehr über Corporate Nudging erfahren möchten, dann hören Sie sich unsere Podcast-Folge über dieses Thema an.

NudgeUs

Wer sind wir?

Wir sind Studierende an der HSHL im Studiengang „Interkulturelle Wirtschaftspsychologie“ mit dem Schwerpunkt „Ökonomische Psychologie“ und werden fachlich begleitet von Prof. Dr. Christoph Harff. Wir haben es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht, nützliche Nudges für Unternehmen zu entwickeln und unsere Besucherinnen und Besucher zum Thema Entscheidungsfindung zu informieren.

Wir richten jedes Sommersemester an der HSHL die NudgeNight eigenständig aus.

Copyright © 2022 Alle Rechte vorbehalten